Inspiration · Uncategorized

Be Gentle With Yourself

IMG_3030.JPG

I have to get that done. I screwed up! Why did I do that? I’m such an idiot! Why can’t I get it right? Why did I eat that? Why do I keep making mistakes? Why did I say that? What is wrong with me?!

Do any of these sound familiar? I know they do to me…

We all try to be our best selves, getting everything done with a smile on our face, checking tasks off our to-do list, eating healthy, being good parents, spouses and friends…but what about when we don’t and veer off course? Guess what?! You’re HUMAN! The most enlightened people in the world fall into funks, turn to their ego, feel anger, sadness, fear, anxiety…but the difference is the ability to bounce back – resilience is key.

It is easy to take time for other people- our kids, pets, families, jobs, but when it comes to ourselves, we have run out of steam.  To give to others & to create more love in the world; We MUST love & nurture ourselves.  Studies show that people who are less stressed, slow down & relaxed are MORE productive!

Feeling more at peace and happier isn’t about doing it “right” or perfect every minute of every day. It’s about loving yourself even in the moments you consider “bad,” which are actually just opportunities to get your attention and face/heal something within yourself. It’s about checking in with yourself OFTEN throughout each day and asking questions, such as “How am I feeling right now? What do I need in this moment? What am I doing? How can I shift my beliefs or action in this moment?” When we tune in, we quickly get the answer we are looking for…take a few deep breaths, slow down, sit down for a moment, look into your child’s eyes and see the innocence and love in them, give your spouse a hug, call  friend, draw a picture, go for a walk…the list goes on. No one else is going to keep us in check. We must take responsibility for ourselves, our beliefs, thoughts and emotions – a gentle and loving self-correcting process if you will.

Therefore, it is not about doing it right or staying in super Zen mode 24/7 and then beat ourselves up when we’re not because we SHOULD be happy right now. It’s about loving ourselves enough to tune in and get right back on that horse. The more we practice, the faster we get on the horse and to me, that is life and that is a huge success!

What is your biggest challenge on a daily basis? I would love to hear from you.

Krystal ~ The Vital Mama

3 thoughts on “Be Gentle With Yourself

  1. My biggest challenge on a daily basis is becoming too attached with everything and everyone, and identifying with and using those things to
    fill that void of silence that we all avoid! It is interesting how unaware so many of us are to the importance of giving ourselves time to become silent and feel/experience ourselves everyday. I loved this post, all very true. What has meditation done for you in your life?

    Like

Leave a Reply

