Health Facts · Inspiration · Uncategorized

What Does the Vital Mama Eat?

12493896_565777007351_1723027357334179457_o.jpg

Well folks, let’s start with saying I’m far from perfect!  I personally live by the 80/20 rule. Let me point out that not everyone can live by this rule, and I still teeter on the ‘not being able to be moderate’ scale.  For some people, it’s easiest to give something up- completely. For others, moderation and balance is best. Everyone is individual. Try both and see what works for you. The first 5 years of my healthy journey, it was easier to give things up completely. That’s because the foods that I was eating created an addictive response. Once I started, I couldn’t stop!  Foods like chocolate (dopamine-delightful feeling!), gluten and dairy (the proteins fit into the opiate receptor sites in the brain) are super addicting!  If you don’t have balanced gut bacteria, hormones, thyroid, blood sugar, etc., then it is easy to “fall off the wagon” when you eat these foods.  Not only that, but scientist have oh so sweetly come up with the perfect combination of sweet, salty and savory to make our taste buds leap for joy.  This is how the food industry has us hooked on sugar and refined carbs- aka drugs.  If you’re body isn’t healthy and balanced enough to counteract these ill effects, then you may fall off the wagon every time you eat them.  This was the case with me up until about 1 year ago. I can now enjoy wine, chocolate and an occasional potato chip fix without going off the deep end. What’s your balance?

What do I eat on a typical day you ask? (remember we are all individual, so what I eat isn’t necessarily what’s best for YOUR body). I will note the majority of our food is organic, local and/or grass-fed.

 

  • Snacks: avo, nuts, seeds, Mary’s Gone crackers, liver pate, olives, kale chips, veggies, coconut oil, almond and PB.

 

  • Lunch: large salad with lots of veggies, avo, nuts, seeds, olive oil, apple cider vinegar, lemon, herbs, grilled chicken or fish, protein shake.

 

  • Dinner: roasted veggies, steamed broccoli, sautéed greens with coconut oil, chicken drumsticks, fish, soups, stews- basically, a meat and a majority veggie w/ healthy fats and a fermented food, such as kimchi, sauerkraut or apple cider vinegar.

My Pinterest board where I get a lot of my recipe: https://www.pinterest.com/thevitalmama/weekly-meal-plan/

10258790_566079166821_2501221596856834654_o.jpg

Majority healthy fats to support my mood, hormones, brain and digestive system, clean protein and low carb (I do best on low carb and most people do). LOTS of plants, fermented foods for gut health, omega-3 fatty acids. Lots of herbal teas.

What do YOU eat on a typical day? I would love to hear from you…

Leave a Reply

